PALAEO FOR A DAY

WHAT LIES BURIED JUST UNDER THE SURFACE

In our Palaeontologist for a Day program, you will join a real palaeontological excavation this summer and find out for yourself! Go shoulder-to-shoulder with researchers and field crews as we explore the Pipestone Creek bonebed for dinosaurs, and with them, the answers to what was really happening right here millions of years ago!

As one of the densest fossil sites in the world, Pipestone Creek is a treasure trove of prehistoric information, but there is still much we don’t know. Each new fossil uncovered provides another piece of the puzzle, and enhances our understanding of the enigmatic animals that once made their homes here.

PROGRAM DETAILS

As a part of the excavation team, you’ll start your day with a behind-the-scenes tour of the museum. Following the tour, you’ll drive yourself to the bonebed, get equipped with a museum tote bag, water bottle, and real fossil hunting tools, then set about scouring the bonebed for the next big discovery with the assistance of our palaeontology team. There will also be time to take a break, breathe in the serene landscape, and have lunch hand-packed by our catering team.

Book today for your fossil dig experience or to give a fossil dig experience to others!

*Participants must be at least 12 years of age, and those under the age of 16 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

2022 SCHEDULE

JULY 2022

Monday, July 18, 2022
Tuesday, July 19, 2022
Wednesday, July 20, 2022 
Thursday, July 21, 2022
Friday, July 22, 2022 
Saturday, July 23, 2022
Sunday, July 24, 2022 

AUGUST 2022

Monday, August 22, 2022
Tuesday, August 23, 2022
Wednesday, August 24, 2022 
Thursday, August 25, 2022
Friday, August 26, 2022 
Saturday, August 27, 2022
Sunday, August 28, 2022

FULL DAY PROGRAM (8HRS):

8:30 am:  Behind-the-scenes tour of lab. Museum tote and water bottle provided.  

9:00 am:  Participants will follow the Palaeontologist for a Day supervisor to the Pipestone parking lot in their own vehicles.

9:30 am:  Tour to the Bonebed and begin digging for fossils.

12:00 pm: Packed Lunch will be provided at the bonebed.

5:00 pm: Pack up for the day.

REGISTER NOW

NOTES

  • As the Palaeontologist for a Day program is an outdoor physical activity, participants must bring their own weather-appropriate attire, including sunscreen.
  • Palaeontologist for a Day programs will proceed rain or shine. Cancellations will only occur in the event of extreme or dangerous weather conditions.

CANCELLATION POLICY

Any changes to your booking can be completed up to 72 hours before the booking; however, cancellations received after 8 days before the date of the program will only be eligible for a 50% refund, and no refund will be issued for same day cancellations.